The Queensland Society of Dancing

The Queensland Society of Dancing is the oldest Ballroom Dance Society in Qld.
The Society came into existence on the 15th of March 1935 when a group of Brisbane Dance Teachers met in the Ballroom of the Carlton Cabaret, Queen Street Brisbane to form the nucleus of the Society.
Present at that meeting were
President – Arthur Eastaugh
Vice Pres – Ernie Moss
Secretary –  Les Tardent
Ruby McCullough
Aubrey Panton
Bob Budgen
J “Sandy” Robertson
Thelma Robertson (Vice President Ballet)
Those present but decline to join were
Percy Fletcher, Tib Challenger, Addie Cantwell, Gwen Ricketts, Matt Lominga, George Larkin. Frank Webber, Doreen Buchanan, L Dobson, Brenda McCullough, Pat Mead and Rolly Callagan.

The next officers 3rd June 1936
President – J “Sandy” Robertson
Vice Pres – R Eve and Thelma Robertson
Treasurer – Ernie Moss
Gen Secretary – Aubrey Panton

Both Sandy Robertson and Aubrey Panton were Life Members


Like so many treasures, as time goes by, photos fade as do memories, so whatever treasures you have, from whatever era, in whatever condition, please don’t let them be lost. You are the story of Australian Dance History.


Tags :


Reset Password

Already have an account ? Login